Otjozondjupa ECN officers meet with political party representatives

Officials of the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) in the Otjozondjupa Region on Tuesday held an information sharing meeting with a group of different political party representatives at Otjiwarongo.

Political party members that attended the meeting are from Swapo, the United Democratic Front (UDF) and Landless People’s Movement (LPM).

Various church organisations, the regional directorate of education, arts and culture, government garage, regional council officials and members of the Namibian Police Force also attended.

ECN Otjozondjupa Regional Electoral Officer, Victoria Amutenya introduced to the meeting the seven constituency supervisors of voter card registrations for Otjiwarongo, Otavi, Grootfontein, Tsumkwe, Okahandja, Omatako and Okakarara.

Amutenya further shared the voter education calendar dates for each constituency, saying the voter education officials are now busy disseminating information in the Otjiwarongo Constituency until 27 April 2024.

Okahandja is next, followed by Omatako, Okakarara, Otavi and Tsumkwe last on 20 June this year, said Amutenya.

‘We therefore urge everyone present to this meeting to go out and share the information about the voter card registrations which will start on 03 June to 01 August 2024. Since there will be no supplementary registrations, all Namibians above 18 years should acquire their voter cards within 03 June and 01 August this year, besides that they will not be allowed to participate in the elections,’ she said.

Amutenya further called on the political parties themselves to also mobilise their members to go and register for the voter cards.

She concluded by telling the meeting that all eligible Namibians on 27 November 2024 will be expected to cast their votes using ballot papers in the Presidential and National Assembly elections.

Source: The Namibia Press Agency