About Us


Welcome to the South Africa News Gazette, your reliable source of information on the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) in Eastern Africa. Established in 1996, IGAD replaced the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development (IGADD), which was founded in 1986. The formation of IGAD was a response to the recurring droughts, natural disasters, and their devastating impact on the region’s economy, environment, and food security between 1974 and 1984.
Initially comprising six countries in the Horn of Africa, namely Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, Sudan, and Uganda, IGADD aimed to address the challenges of development and drought control through regional cooperation. In 1986, the Assembly of Heads of State and Government signed an agreement in Djibouti, officially launching IGADD with its headquarters located in Djibouti. Following the independence of Eritrea in 1993, it became the seventh member of IGAD.
In 1995, the Assembly of Heads of State and Government declared the revitalization of IGADD and an expansion of cooperation among member states. This led to the amendment of the IGADD Charter, and on 21 March 1996, in Nairobi, the revitalized organization was officially renamed the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD). With an expanded scope of regional cooperation and a new organizational structure, the revitalized IGAD was launched on 25 November 1996 in Djibouti.
South Africa News Gazette is committed to providing you with comprehensive coverage of IGAD’s activities and initiatives. Stay informed about the regional cooperation efforts and development projects undertaken by IGAD member states. Explore our news articles and updates to gain valuable insights into the progress and challenges faced by Eastern Africa.